How Do I Become a Real Estate Agent?
So…You Want to Be a Real Estate Agent?
The first thing you must do if you want to be a real estate agent in Delaware is get your real estate license. Click HERE for the Delaware requirements. Go to the website for the Delaware Real Estate Commission at https://dprfiles.delaware.gov/realestate/Approved_Pre-Licensing_Providers-Contact_Info.pdf for a list of approved online or in-person real estate pre-licensing course providers, or you can Google this topic. Pre-licensing education classes in Delaware require that you successfully complete the 99-hour approved course. The cost of the classes can vary from school to school. Some people prefer in-person classes, whereas others are more successful with an online course. https://scaor.theceshop.com.
Applicants for a real estate license must pass the two-part standardized real estate licensing exam that is administered by a professional testing service, Pearson Vue, at a current cost of $85. Each of the two sections, National and Delaware Law, are graded separately and you must pass each with a minimum score of 70%. https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/. The licensing exam takes two to three hours to complete, and you will know immediately if you have passed or failed. If you do not pass, you can take retake that section of the exam up to three times. You must pass the exam and apply for your license within one year of completing the pre-licensing course. You will work with the Broker you have chosen to complete the application for your license. Here is a link to the State of Delaware Real Estate fee schedule; visit https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/fees/.
A Delaware real estate license may be issued to a non-resident currently licensed and practicing in another state and is in good standing with their current state commission. These applicants must take the Delaware state law portion of the real estate exam. They are encouraged to take the law portion of the pre-licensing course to familiarize themselves with Delaware law, as real estate law varies greatly from state to state.
State of Delaware Application for Real Estate Salesperson Licensure: All applications are submitted through DELPROS, the DPR online system. They no longer accept paper applications. https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/ressalesperson/
All real estate licensees are renewed biennially and expire on April 30th of the even years. https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/cerequirements/. To renew a real estate license an agent needs 21 credit hours of CE. In Delaware, CE classes are 3-hours in length which equates to seven (7) 3-hour classes for renewal. The following is a link to a CE checklist that you may find useful. http://scaor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/2018_de_ce_checklist.pdf. The total hours required for renewal will be based on the date the license was issued. Approved CE providers are located throughout the state. You can also earn special designations and certifications from the National Association of REALTORS® that help define your niche in the market. Most agents find the value of continuing education to be well worth the cost.
New REALTORS® work under the supervision of a Broker. Real estate Brokers may offer agents training, a mentor program, forms, client management software, marketing support, and legal protection. When deciding where to hang your hat, interview at least three different brokerages in order to get a feeling of how they work. Some agents prefer large or national brokerages because the well-known company names help give them credibility. Other agents like the mom-and-pop shops because they’re more flexible about working from home and choosing your own vendors.
Even though you’ll be working under the supervision of a Broker, REALTORS® are independent contractors. However, in Delaware, there are Rules & Regulations that govern how you must advertise your services. Your broker should be able to provide you with those guidelines. Common expenses that you may incur, based on what your Brokerage provides, could include sale signs, open house signs, and a basic website. As an agent, you’ll encounter many miscellaneous real estate business expenses as well. These include your cell phone and internet bill, office space and supplies, computer hardware and software, client meetings and lunches, and client closing gifts. Your Broker may cover some of these, but probably not all. So be sure to add them to your list of costs to consider when starting a real estate career.
Membership dues, while a tax write-off, are a notable expense. As a REALTOR®, you’ll become a member of your state and local real estate boards, your local Multiple Listing Service, and the National Association of REALTORS®. The following is a list of the current fees and dues that you should expect:
2023 SCAOR Membership Dues: $250.00 one-time application fee + $290.00 annual dues
2023 DAR (Delaware Association of REALTORS®) Dues: $200.00 annually
2023 NAR (National Association of REALTORS®) Dues: $150.00 annually + $45.00 assessment
2023 Bright MLS (Multiple Listing Service) Fees: approximately $120.00 per quarter, billed directly to the member by Bright MLS.
2023 SCAOR SentriLock (lockbox access) Fees: $125.00 annually; Or SentriLock Only $150.00 annually.
Visit www.scaor.com and click on the EDUCATION tab for upcoming classes.
Please note: This may not be all the information you need! You should reach out to another REALTOR® or brokerage office and speak with someone about their experience. You can also use the internet to obtain additional information.